Love Does.

Bob Goff spoke at our church a few weeks ago and it was so, so good. It’s nothing deep or new but simple and spot on. It’s been encouraging to me so I wanted to share some of what I’ve been mulling over…

I’ve been a Christian since age 3 so it’s easy for me to take it for granted. It’s easy to learn to say and do all the right things and let your relationship with the Lord become stale. I think our culture adds to the idea of constantly measuring our own actions as well as others as either right or wrong/ good or bad. This type of thinking sidetracks us from what Jesus has actually called us to do: love one another.

The “Love Does message” is all about loving people and simply being “with” them. Bob Goff’s demeanor is so infectious. He oozes a love for life and others. He almost appears to be a person completely unaffected by the day-to-day stresses of life because he’s too busy enjoying people. He laughs like a crazy person at the frustrations that would derail some people. And, he’s much more joyful and content because of it. After listening to him speak for the first time, Matt and I couldn’t stop talking about it. We  immediately bought his book on itunes and have set out to apply these principles. Of course the second we start striving for a more laid-back love approach to life, our kids are screaming and fighting and pushing every button we have. Doesn’t it always work this way?

The more I listen to his book, the more I’m inspired to keep my faith simple. Love God, love people. He talks about love as more than just hoping but doing, putting action to the word. It’s been in the back of my head in all my interactions. How can I do love for this person, even the ones I usually steer clear of because of x, y, and z excuses. It’s extremely freeing to let go of my opinions and inhibitions and simply love. Instead of questioning people’s intentions or actions, all I need to do is what Jesus asked me to: love my neighbor. As Goff says, “It’s simple but it’s not easy”.

Leave a Reply

